Accessibility Navigation:

Today's Hours:
Latest News

The Special Collections Reading and Manuscripts Room was named after Harry Lee Dalton who was born June 13, 1895 in Winston, North Carolina. This collection is full of primary resources relating to WWI, WWII as well as information on commerce and industry. Check out Harry L. Dalton papers here

Dean W. Colvard Papers The Colvard Building opened in 1979. It was named after Dean Wallace Colvard, UNC Charlotte’s first chancellor in 1966. Dean Colvard was born July 10, 1913 in Grassy Creek, North Carolina. To learn more about Dean Colvard, visit Special Collections.

The first phase of completed digitized collections from the J. Murrey Atkins Library is now available to the public through This digital resource makes rare and unique research materials freely accessible to students, researchers, teachers, and lifelong learners around the world.

J. Murrey Atkins Library Special Collections is pleased to be a participant in the historically rich digital project: Civil War in the American South.

This digital collection documents the plans for the urban redevelopment of Charlotte in the 1960s and 1970s.  Created in 1957, the Charlotte Redevelopment Commission was charged with projects which cleared rundown areas of Charlotte but also projects for rehabilitation of declining older neighborhoods.  The areas where these projects took place were Belmont, Brooklyn, Cherry, Dilworth, Downtown, First Ward, Greenville, North Charlotte, Third Ward, and Wilmore. By far the largest of these areas were the Brooklyn and Greenville areas. The first demolition took place in 1961.